About us


Maite Alberdi


Maite studied Film and Aesthetics at Universidad Católica de Chile. She is a writer-director which has developed a highly particular style that achieves an intimate portrayal of the characters she works with, through everyday stories in small-scale worlds. Her renowned personal hallmark has made her one of the most important voices in Latin American documentaries. In IDFA 2011 she released her first feature The Lifeguard. Her second film Tea Time (funded by: ITVS, Berta Fund, Tribeca film Institute, FFA, CORFO) won more than 12 international awards and was nominated for Best Ibero-American Film at the Goya Awards in 2016. In that same year, her short film I’m Not From Here won best short film at Visions du Reel, and was later nominated for the European Films Award. Her third feature film The Grown Ups received 10 international awards. Her fourth film “The Mole Agent” premiered in Sundance 2020, was in IDFA’s Best of Fest, won Best European Film at San Sebastian Film Festival 2020 and is now the Chilean Official Entry for the Oscars and Goya Awards 2021. Maite works as a teacher of documentary at the Universidad Católica de Chile and is the co-author the book Documentary Film Theory in Chile 1957-1973. Since 2018 she is a member of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) and a Global Shaper Young Leader of the World Economic Forum (WEF). Nowadays she is developing 3 upcoming new projects.

Marcela Santibáñez


Marcela is a Fulbright Scholar, she studied film at Universidad Católica de Chile. In the year 2014, she acquired her MFA in Film Producing at UCLA’s School of Theater, Film and Television. She created and produced the TV Show Chile Suena, winner of the Chilean National TV Fund. During the years 2012-2015 she resided in Los Angeles, where she interned at Participant Media and Tugg Inc. and produced a TV pilot and three award winning short films. Upon her return to Chile, she started working as Head Producer in Micromundo, award winning director Maite Alberdi’s production company. She was in charge of the Goya Awards campaign for the film “Tea Time.” She produced the documentary “Flow” from director Nicolás Molina which premiered at Sheffield Doc fest 2018 and won Best National Film at Sanfic Film Festival and Docs Valparaiso Film Festival. She is the producer of “The Mole Agent” by Maite Alberdi and is now the executive producer of the upcoming film “Gaucho Americano” by Nicolas Molina and is producer of the films in development “The Infinite Memory” and “The Workshop” by Maite Alberdi. Since 2019, she’s been the director of programming at FIDOCS, Santiago International Documentary Film Festival.

Julie Goldman

Executive Producer

Founded Motto Pictures in 2009. She is an Oscar nominated and Emmy Award-winning producer and executive producer of documentary feature films. Julie is producer of Life, Animated and executive producer of Weiner, both of which premiered at the 2016 Sundance Film Festival. Life, Animated won the U.S. Documentary Directing Award, was released by The Orchard and was nominated for the 2017 Academy Award. Weiner won the U.S. Documentary Grand Jury Prize, was released by IFC Films & Showtime and was shortlisted for the 2017 Academy Award. She produced Gideon’s Army, Manhunt, God Loves Uganda, The Great Invisible, Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry and Buck. She consulted on the Academy Award-winning The Cove and produced the Oscar shortlisted Sergio. Julie is on the Board of the Producers Guild of America (PGA) and a member of Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).

Micromundo Producciones

Micromundo Producciones is a Chilean company dedicated to audiovisual productions, mainly documentaries d’auteur and feature films that reflect the director’s personality. The company has produced the following films:

The Mole Agent Credits

Director: Maite Alberdi
Producer: Marcela Santibáñez
Executive Producers: Julie Goldman, Christopher Clements, Carolyn
Hepburn, Sally Jo Fifer, Justine Nagan, Chris White, Marcela Santibáñez, Maite Alberdi
Co-Producers: Ingmar Trost, Fleur Knopperts, Denis Vaslin, María del Puy
Alvarado Marisa Fernández Armenteros
Editor: Carolina Siraqyan
Director of Photography: Pablo Valdés
Field Sound by: Boris Herrera, Juan Carlos Maldonado
Original Music By: Vincent van Warmerdam